Skip to main content

Web Content Display Web Content Display

SOLARIS centre

Web Content Display Web Content Display

Web Content Display Web Content Display


The League of European Accelerator based-Photon Sources (LEAPS) constitutes a strategic partnership of synchrotron radiation and free electron laser (FEL) facilities.

Its primary goal is to actively and constructively promote and ensure the quality and impact of fundamental, applied and industrial research carried out at their facilities.

LEAPS is a collaboration that brings together light sources that each produce exceptionally intense beams of X-rays, ultraviolet, and infrared light. Light sources encompass both the synchrotron light source community, which produce highly intense continuous beams, and the free-electron lasers community, producing high intensity short pulsed laser-like beams. Both types of light source complement one another. Light source facilities have been working alongside each other in Europe successfully for years, supporting world-class science. In the past 5 years alone, LEAPS members have welcomed 24 000 direct users, who have had an impact on a wider network of 35 000 researchers, with 23 400 unique articles published in peer-reviewed journals.

LEAPS deploys its substantial collective knowledge, experience and expertise in synchrotron and FEL science and technology, Research Infrastructure management, and service to scientific users and stakeholders to the greater benefit of European science and society. It also aims to play an integrating role for countries with less developed communities and infrastructure for research and innovation, in Europe and beyond.


  • Alba synchrotron
  • DESY - the Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron
  • Diamond Light Source
  • Ellettra Sincrotrone Trieste
  • ESRF (the European Synchrotron Radiation Facility)
  • European XFEL (the European X-ray Free Electron Laser)
  • FELIX Laboratory
  • HZB (Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin für Materialien und Energie GmbH)
  • HZDR (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf)
  • INFN (Instituto Nazionali di Frascati - the National Institute for Nuclear Physics)
  • ISA (the Institute for Storage Ring Facilities)
  • MAXIV Laboratory
  • PSI (The Paul Scherrer Institute)
  • PTB (Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt - the National Metrology Institute of Germany)
  • The National Centre for Synchrotron Radiation SOLARIS
  • SOLEIL synchrotron
  • ESUO - European Sychrotron and FEL User Organisation.