Skip to main content

Web Content Display Web Content Display

Public&media

Web Content Display Web Content Display

Media contact

Emilia Król
phone: +48 12 664 41 38
mobile phone: +48 607 150 583
emilia.krol@uj.edu.pl 

Visits service

Alicja Górkiewicz
phone: +48 12 664 41 99
mobile phone: +48 571 445 045
e-mail: alicja.gorkiewicz@uj.edu.pl

Web Content Display Web Content Display

About Kraków

Kraków is the second largest city in Poland (after Warsaw), with a population of 780,000. It is situated on the banks of the Vistula river in the south of Poland, and is the administrative centre of the Małopolska voivodeship.

Having in former times been the capital of Poland and the royal seat, it is rich in historic structures, and the entire Old City has been entered into the UNESCO list of World Cultural Heritage sites. 

Nowadays, Kraków is the administrative, cultural, educational, economic, and service industry centre of the region. In 2019. the city was ranked 6th in the global ranking of best locations for companies in the modern business solutions (BPO/SSC) and new technologies sectors.

Kraków is also home to one of the two best Polish universities, the Jagiellonian University, making it an important point of the national academic and research map.

In 2019, Kraków hosted 14 million tourists, drawn by the delightful architecture as well as the magical atmosphere and lively nightlife of the city. From among the many attractions the city has to offer, we recommend to those in the city for purposes of using the SOLARIS Centre who may have limited amounts of time, the following:

The Main Square (Rynek Główny) in Kraków and the Old City (Stare Miasto). In the Main Square, visitors can enjoy the medieval Sukiennice Cloth Hall, which features dozens of stalls offering typical souvenirs of the city and region, as well as St Mary’s Church, which features an altar created by the famed sculptor Veit Stoss (one of the finest late Gothic works of sculpture in Europe). The Square is surrounded by pleasant cafés and garden restaurants. A characteristic feature of the Old City are the cafés and clubs located in underground cellars scattered among the streets of the Old City leading into the Square.

The Planty park. This is an exceptional green area which surrounds the Old City on the land previously occupied by the medieval city walls. With the Planty or in its immediate vicinity, there are many historic structures, such as the medieval Barbican or Floriańska Gate, as well as the royal castle at Wawel.

The Museum of the Princes Czartoryski in Kraków. The museum houses the most precious collections in Poland, which is also one of the most precious in Europe as a whole. Featured works include Leonardo da Vinci’s “Lady with an Ermine” and Rembrandt van Rijn’s “Landscape with the Good Samaritan” as well as many other masterpieces, not only paintings but also sculpture, handicrafts, military antiques, and works of applied arts.

The Oskar Schindler Enamel Factory. The exhibition displayed in the factory, “Kraków under Nazi Occupation 1939–1945” tells the story of Kraków and of the fates of its ethnically Polish and Jewish inhabitants during the terrible days of World War II. The museum also highlights the figure of Oskar Schindler, the hero of the award-winning Steven Spielberg film “Schindler’s List”.

Przejdź do głównej treści

Widok zawartości stron Widok zawartości stron

Goście i media

Widok zawartości stron Widok zawartości stron

Kontakt dla mediów

Agnieszka Cudek
tel. stacjonarny: 12 664 41 35
tel. komórkowy: 795 545 750
e-mail: agnieszka.cudek@uj.edu.pl

Obsługa wycieczek

Alicja Górkiewicz
tel. stacjonarny: 12 664 41 99
tel. komórkowy: 571 445 045
e-mail: alicja.gorkiewicz@uj.edu.pl

Widok zawartości stron Widok zawartości stron

О Кракове

Краков – это второй по населению (780 тыс. человек) и площади город Польши, который находится на юге Польши, лежит на берегу реки Висла и является административным центром Малопольского воеводства.

Как бывшая столица Польши и место коронации польских королей, город богат историческими памятниками, а район Старого города включен в Список всемирного наследия ЮНЕСКО.

В настоящее время Краков является административным, культурным, образовательным и экономическим центром. Краков также занимает второе место после Варшавы по величине рынка офисной недвижимости. В 2019 году город занял шестое место в мировом рейтинге лучших мест для локализации компаний из сектора современных бизнес-услуг (BPO/SSC) и индустрии новых технологий.

В Кракове находится один из двух крупнейших и ведущих университетов страны – Ягеллонский университет, что делает город одним из важных пунктов на карте национальных исследовательских центров.

Соблазненные не только уникальной архитектурой, но и волшебной атмосферой и интенсивной ночной жизнью города, в 2019 году Краков посетило порядка 14 миллионов туристов. 

Пользователям Национального Центра Синхротронного Излучения «СОЛЯРИС», которые располагают ограниченным свободным временем, мы рекомендуем обязательно посетить:

  • street of krakowГлавный Рынок (Rynek Główny) и Старый город (Stare Miasto). На Главном Рынке находится здание Суконных рядов (Sukiennice), торговые ряды бывшей столицы Польши, с многочисленными киосками с сувенирами от городских и региональных ремесленников. Также на Главном Рынке стоит Мариацкий костёл, известный своей уникальной архитектурой и находящемуся в нём алтарю Вита Ствоша – одного из самых выдающихся произведений позднеготической искусства в Европе.
    Главный Рынок окружают кафе и рестораны. Также характерной чертой для центра Кракова являются кафе и клубы в подвальных помещениях старинных зданий, расположенных на улицах ведущих к Главному Рынку.
  • Планты (Planty) - уникальный городской парк, который окружает Старый город. В районе парка или в его окрестностях находится множество исторических зданий, таких как средневековый Барбакан, Флорианские ворота и Королевский замок на Вавеле.
  • Музей Чарторыйских в Кракове. Музей имеет самую ценную в Польше и одну из самых ценных в Европе коллекций изобразительного искусства. Коллекция включает в себя картины Леонардо да Винчи «Дама с горностаем» и Рембрандта Харменса ван Рейна «Пейзаж с добрым самаритянином», а также многие другие шедевры не только в области живописи и скульптуры, но и ремесел, военного и прикладного искусства.
  • Фабрика Оскара Шиндлера. Представленная на объекте выставка «Краков во времена оккупации 1939–1945 гг.» рассказывает о Кракове и о судьбах его польских и еврейских жителей в годы Второй мировой войны. Музей также знакомит нас с Оскаром Шиндлером, также известным благодаря оскароносному фильму Стивена Спилберга «Список Шиндлера».